TEN players could make their Scotland debuts in the summer tour opener with Canada in Ottawa on Saturday evening. 

Fresh from helping Glasgow Warriors to the United Rugby Championship title, Gregor Brown and Max Williamson will make their debuts up front. 

Behind the scrum, Edinburgh centre Matt Currie and Sale Sharks duo Gus Warr and Arron Reed will also win their first caps. 

A further five players - hooker Robbie Smith, props Nathan McBeth and Will Hurd, lock Ewan Johnson and wing Ross McCann - could debut from the bench. 

Meanwhile, there is no place in the matchday squad for Aberlady's Rory Darge, Musselburgh-Huw Jones or Javan Sebastian, who lives in Tranent.

Stafford McDowall and Luke Crosbie will share the captaincy duties, with head coach Gregor Townsend opting to retain the co-captaincy model he implemented during the Six Nations. 

Dylan Richardson wins his first cap at hooker, more than three years after his only other international appearance for Scotland, in the back-row during a win over Japan. 

The Sharks man packs down either side of Rory Sutherland and Elliot Millar Mills in the front-row. 

Williamson joins Edinburgh's Glen Young in the second row, while Brown and Crosbie will pack either side of Josh Bayliss in the breakaway trio. 

Behind the scrum, Warr wins his first cap at scrum-half and partners Ross Thompson at half-back. 

McDowall will wear the number 12 jersey with Currie lining up outside him. 

Harry Paterson, who made a stunning debut during the Six Nations defeat to France, is at fullback with Reed and Dobie - a scrum-half by trade who has been used by Glasgow on the wing this season - completing the back three.

Canada, meanwhile, have former Glasgow Warriors prop Justice Sears-Duru among their squad for the match at TD Place. 

He is one of five survivors from the sides' last meeting, a 48-10 win for Scotland on the 2018 tour. 

The teams

Scotland team to play Canada: Harry Paterson, Jamie Dobie, Matt Currie, Stafford McDowall (co-captain), Arron Reed, Ross Thompson, Gus Warr; Rory Sutherland, Dylan Richardson, Elliot Millar Mills, Max Williamson, Glen Young, Gregor Brown, Luke Crosbie (co-captain), Josh Bayliss

Replacements: Robbie Smith, Nathan McBeth, Will Hurd, Ewan Johnson, Matt Fagerson, Ben Healy, Kyle Steyn, Ross McCann

Canada team: Cooper Coats, Andrew Coe, Mitch Richardson, Ben LeSage, Nic Benn, Peter Nelson, Jason Higgins; Liam Murray, Andrew Quattrin, Conor Young, Conor Keys, Kyle Baillie, Mason Flesch, Lucas Rumball (captain), Siaki Vikilani

Replacements: Jesse Mackail, Djustice Sears-Duru, Cole Keith, James Stockwood, Sion Parry, Brock Gallagher Talon McMullin, Takoda McMullin

 Back to top