TWO talented golfers have been celebrating success at the Scottish Girls’ Amateur Championships.

Evie McCallum, of The Renaissance Club, and Ellie Bent (Gullane) were among those playing at Cardrona Golf Club.

McCallum led the qualifiers and then won all her matches to emerge victorious as the champion.

Speaking after winning, she told Scottish Golf: “It feels amazing… the course [at Cardrona] is really nice and it’s improved a lot.

“I love the surroundings, really nice holes. My first competition ever was [played] here and I placed second last.

“So, when I heard that this event was being played here I really wanted to win it and just prove to myself that I could do it because I’ve worked really hard and I know that I had it in me [to win].”

READ MORE: Scottish Open: Grant Forrest happy with his final performance

There were 16 qualifiers for the scratch championship, and the next 16 girls competed for the net championship.

In the strokeplay section of the tournament, McCallum defeated third seed Sheridan Clancy to be crowned the winner.

Bent finished 21st to go into the net matchplay event where she would go on to defeat Lara Douglas in the final, 2 up.

Grace Crawford (West Links Junior Golf Club) had finished seventh in the strokeplay event but lost out in the matchplay.

Meanwhile, nine East Lothian golfers made it to the matchplay section of the Scottish Boys’ Amateur Championship.

Harry Bent (Gullane), Dominic McGlinchey (The Renaissance Club), Sam Mukherjee (Loretto School), Joe MacPherson (Gullane), Callum Kenneally (Dunbar), Andrew Hendry (Gullane), Fergus Brown (Gullane), Jack Collingswood (West Links Junior Golf Club) and Ben Austin (Haddington) all made it through to the last 64.

Calum Dawson (Loretto) and Adam Macdonald (Haddington) missed out.

Bent made it the furthest at Lanark Golf Club as he came unstuck against eventual runner-up Fraser Laird and, alongside Alex McGillivray, was awarded the semi-finalist crystal award.

Reaching the quarter-finals were Brown and Mukherjee while Collingswood reached the last 16, McGlinchey, MacPherson and Kenneally all reached the last 32 and Hendry lost in the last 64 alongside Austin.