THE DRAW for the heats of this year's New Year Sprint will take place on Monday. 

Sixty-six runners have put their names into the hat for the New Year's Day event at Musselburgh Racecourse, with the winner set to scoop a £4,000 first prize.

Before then, though, ten heats will be run on December 30 to determine this year's finalists.

This year is the 149th running of the New Year Sprint, which moved to Musselburgh from Meadowbank in 1999. 

Greg Kelly, of East Kilbride AC, was last year's winner, and will hope to defend his title. 

Jordan Charters and Emily Dagg, who finished second and third last year, are also returning to the heats, but former winners Jazmine Tomlinson (pictured below) and Cameron Tindle are not in the running.

East Lothian Courier:

Tomlinson remains the only female winner, making history in 2016 as she lifted the trophy, but a number of female athletes have put their names forward to try and emulate her achievement on January 1.
And the draw for the heats takes place at Musselburgh Racecourse at 11.30am on Monday.