THE Scottish Motorcycle Championship season concluded at East Fortune at the weekend.

The finale of the weekend's racing saw John Dean Jnr claim the Steve Hislop Memorial Trophy, taking the coveted prize back to Hislop's home town of Hawick.

Adam Lyon finished as runner-up, with Richard Stanbury in third place.

The prestigious trophy was handed over by Steve's mum Margaret, who made the journey from her home in Denholm, and she was thrilled to see the trophy return to the family's home town.

All four Scottish Lightweights' races were won by Haddington's Paul McClung, with Lewis Paterson runner-up in all four races.

McClung had secured the championship several race meetings ago with maximum points, and continued his good form as he set two new lap records.

The 20-year-old was the first 600cc bike to finish the Hislop race, having progressed from 25th on the starting grid.

Ewan Gray from Brechin became Scottish Superstock 600 champion for the first time, while Torquil Paterson won the Melville Club Championship.

The four Superstock race wins were shared by Gray, previous Superbike champion Paterson, Callum Grigor and Adam Lyon who made a welcome return to East Fortune, not having been here since he was a Formula 125 racer several years ago.

All four Superbike races were won decisively by pole-sitter John Dean, who had already secured the 2016 Scottish Championship several weeks ago, with Des Burns winning the Superbike Cup.

Commentator Ian Hutchinson paid tribute to Hislop, reminding the gathered spectators that Hislop was an 11-times TT race winner who started his race career at East Fortune, going on to become Scottish and British Champion.

The club thanked everyone involved for another successful season – a final racing meeting of the campaign will be held on October 8/9, when the NEMCRC will hold its championship races at the county venue.