CANDIDATES vying to become the first Lothian East MP will come under scrutiny this evening (Wednesday).

Dunbar Churches Eco-Group has teamed up with Sustaining Dunbar to host a hustings.

Each of the seven candidates – Douglas Alexander (Labour), Robert Davies (Reform UK), Duncan Dunlop (Liberal Democrats), Scott Hamilton (Conservative), Lyn Jardine (SNP), George Kerevan (Alba) and Shona McIntosh (Scottish Green) – have been invited to attend the event, which takes place at Dunbar Parish Church from 7.30pm to 9pm.

Tim Greene, from Sustaining Dunbar, is provisionally going to chair the meeting.

Changes to the constituency boundary have seen the East Lothian seat scrapped, with part of Musselburgh now becoming part of the Edinburgh East and Musselburgh constituency.

READ MORE: Lothian East General Election hustings confirmed

The remaining section of East Lothian has been renamed Lothian East.

Current East Lothian MP Kenny MacAskill has already confirmed he will not stand for re-election and instead attempt to win the Alloa and Grangemouth seat.