THE finalists for the inaugural East Lothian Courier Community Champion Awards can now be revealed.

A panel of judges had the difficult task of drawing up a shortlist for each award category from scores of entries sent in from across the county.

The aim of the awards is to reward and celebrate the people who make our communities a better place.

Such was the quality of the entries, that the task facing the judging panel was certainly not an easy one, said Courier Editor Robbie Scott, who chaired the panel.

“It’s been a difficult last few years for so many people in our communities, but these last few years have also seen a great many people step up to help those less fortunate than themselves, giving their time and efforts to make other people’s lives that bit better,” he said.

“That was clearly evident from the many entries we received.

“We’d like to thank everyone who took the time to submit a nomination, and we’d like to thank everyone who was nominated for everything they do for our communities.

“I’d also like to thank the judges for the huge amount of time they gave to considering all the nominations and helping to select our finalists.

“And a special mention to our awards sponsors, without whom none of this would be possible. Thank you, everyone.”

The judging panel comprised Ciara Jamieson, SSE Renewables; Councillor John McMillan, Provost of East Lothian; Gaynor Marshall, East Coast Buses; and David Walker, Sustainable Facilities Management.

The Community Champion Awards are generously sponsored by East Coast Buses; SSE Renewables; and Sustainable Facilities Management.

East Lothian Courier:

The winners will be announced at a special awards evening at Haddington Corn Exchange on Thursday, May 30, hosted by TV and radio personality Bryan Burnett. To attend, tickets can be purchased via:

East Lothian Courier Community Champion Awards 2024 finalists

Champion Teacher of the Year

  • Hannah McBride (Knox Academy)
  • Lynsey Kelly (Ross High School)
  • Emma Shepherd (Dirleton Primary School)

Little Champion of the Year

  • Flora Gentleman, age 5
  • Annalise Kelly, age 10
  • Ruaridh Muir, age 11
  • Bodhi Watson, age 5

Sporting Champion of the Year

  • Jack Gordon (captain, Preston Lodge RFC)
  • Lewis Rollo (motorsport)
  • Preston Lodge RFC
  • Ross Muir (snooker)

Youth Community Champion – Sponsored by SSE Renewables Berwick Bank Wind Farm

  • Amie Ferguson
  • Charlie Mack
  • Jack Tait
  • Elle Washington and Sorcha Calder

Health & Care Award

  • Out-patient endoscopy nursing team, East Lothian Community Hospital
  • Harlawhill Day Care Centre, Prestonpans
  • John Rudyj, Scottish Ambulance Service
  • The Haven wellbeing and resilience service, Tranent (part of Edinburgh Children’s Hospital Charity)

Green Champion Award – Sponsored by Sustainable Facilities Management

  • Henry Mathias (Tranent Wombles)
  • Libby Morris (North Berwick in Bloom)
  • Rab Moran (Blooming Haddington)
  • The Ridge project (Dunbar) volunteers

Entrepreneurial Award

  • Andrew Bissell (Sunamp Ltd)
  • Harka Karki (Gurkha Bar & Restaurant, Musselburgh)
  • Josh Barton (co-founder of Brose)
  • Svetlana Kukharchuk (The Cheese Lady)

Charity Champion of the Year

  • Richie Roncero (Steps to Hope)
  • Rosemary Moffat (The Hollies, Musselburgh)
  • Sporting Memories Foundation Scotland
  • The Haven wellbeing and resilience service, Tranent (part of Edinburgh Children’s Hospital Charity)

Live Music Award

  • East Linton Community Choir
  • Haddington Pipe Band
  • Preston Lodge High School Pipe Band
  • The Goat’s Toes

Heart of Gold

  • Davie Martin
  • Elaine Morrison
  • Evelyn Weir
  • Kirsty McLuckie

Community Champion of the Year – Sponsored by East Coast Buses

  • Beryl Stevenson
  • Daena Robertson
  • Karl Cleghorn