FALKO Burkert, David Barrett and Stuart Pe-Win are among those who have been elected to Haddington’s community council.

The group, which also covers Athelstaneford, needed an election after 16 people came forward to fill the 14 seats.

Mr Burkert, who runs Falko cafe; Mr Barrett, who was previously on the group; and Mr Pe-Win, chairman of Haddington Central Tenants and Residents Association, won seats following the retirement of Jan Wilson and Fiona-Frances Adam.

But long-standing member Paul Darling, who was one of the group’s planning liaison officers, missed out, alongside Brian Scott.

More than 2,000 of the 9,191 eligible voters cast their vote.

Results: Erica Muirhead (1,401), Falko Burkert (1,351), Pat Lemmon (1,285), John Hamilton (1,008), Rab Moran (927), Jim Graham (865), David Barrett (853), Therese Laing (838), Graham Samuel (765), Jack Worden (752), Chris McEwan (744), Stuart Pe-Win (695), Morgwn Davies (587) and Fiona McEwan (585), who all made it. Paul Darling (504) and Brian Scott (385) missed out.

Meanwhile, both Pencaitland and Garvald and Morham community councils also needed an election due to too many candidates putting their names forward.

In Pencaitland, 15 members of the public – Ralph Averbuch, Matt Berry, Carol Finneron, Alison Glencorse, Patricia Gordon, Kimberley Hughes, Tina Koster, Jean McCormack, Liam McMillan, Myra O’Connor, Sheena Richardson, Carol Snow, Phil Summerfield, Fiona Tennick and Sally Thomas – were elected, as Garry Park missed out.

While in Garvald and Morham, Lynda Boyle-Ronaldson was the unlucky candidate as Anna Derricourt, Roger Harris, Ian Middlemass, David Ramsay, Ian Smith and Phillip White were elected.