SCOTTISH Cup title glory is now just one more win away for the East Lothian Indoor Bowling Club gents’ side after they won a semi-final against Premier League champions Blantyre.

The Garden County’s finest saw off the challenge from the newly-crowned Premier League winners with a 6-4 victory.

And a spokesperson for the club hailed the win.

He said: “It was an absolutely outstanding result for us given the fact we played a very good Blantyre team at near full strength while we had several key players missing.”

An epic encounter saw the league rivals trade punch and counter-punch in a battle that went right down to the wire before East Lothian emerged victorious.

Haddington star Joe Mower stole the show for East Lothian, with the former World Under-25 champion producing an outstanding individual performance to skip Lessel Middler, Kevin Cunningham and Jamie Higgins from 8-9 to a 23-10 win over Jim McCann.

That was supported by a crucial win for Graham Robertson, who led from start to finish as he skipped Mark Yuill, Andy Burt and Mark Johnston to a battling 18-17 win over Alex Kelly.

Scott Kennedy and his front three of Aaron Betts, David Sked and Stewart Thomson lost out 21-20 in a cracking battle against fellow Scotland cap Brian Irvine, with the outcome settled on the last end.

The quartet of Andrew Jeffrey, Jamie Gordon, Dean Riva and Billy Mellors found it tough going against world-stage star Ian McLean but their late revival in a 27-18 defeat did help East Lothian claim the shot aggregate honours 79-75.

Opposition in the final on Saturday at Abbeyview IBC in Dunfermline comes in the shape of local rivals Midlothian.

East Lothian’s ambition is to etch the club’s name on the coveted silverware for a record-extending eighth time and that mission is enhanced by the returning presence to the line-up of team captain Dougie Berwick, while team morale is further boosted by the return of exciting youngster Lewis Betts.

There are two enforced absentees in the shape of stalwart figures Andy Burt and Jamie Gordon, so the side reads: L. Betts, A. Jeffrey, D. Riva, B. Mellors skip; A. Betts, D. Sked, S. W. Thomson, S. Kennedy skip; L. Middler, K. Cunningham, J. Higgins, J. Mower skip; M. Yuill, D. Berwick capt, M. Johnston, G. Robertson skip.

The club is running a coach to the final and there are a limited number of seats remaining for any supporters wishing to travel and support the team. The coach is scheduled to depart Meadowmill at 10.15am and anyone interested is requested to contact club secretary Scott Kennedy on 01875 614166 for further information.