SWIMMERS from Windygoul Primary and Loretto School are celebrating success at this year’s East Lothian Primary School Swimming Gala.

The heats were held in January, where 10 large schools and 10 small schools competed for a place in the finals and a chance to win points for their school.

At the finals last week, youngsters from across the county competed in freestyle, backcrawl and breaststroke individual races, before the relay events completed the morning of swimming.

Windygoul Primary won the large school category with 47 points, four better than Gullane Primary. Law Primary School finished in third, with 37 points.

Meanwhile, in the small schools category, Loretto were victorious with 29 points, while Longniddry finished a point ahead of The Compass to take second place.

There was a second cause for celebration for Windygoul as they were crowned large school relay champions, while the small school equivalent went to The Compass.

Merit Awards went to Ben Williamson (Compass), Stefan Krawiec (Windygoul), Grace Courtney (Loretto) and Tegan Black (Dunbar) for winning both their individual events.

The Merit Trophy was presented to Gabriella Santos (Stoneyhill) for winning both her events and for bettering her times by the largest amount from the heats.

The event’s special guest was Kenneth Baird, who started the event in 1977; he presented the winners with their awards.

His last year organising the event was in 1985, where he was presented with a medal for his services to school swimming.

Karen Ferguson, the county’s swimming development officer, thanked everyone for helping make the event a success once more this year.