Prestonpans Gala committee has announced that Bella McIntyre will assume the role of Prestonpans Gala Queen for the 2023 gala day.

The draw was made at a picking event last Sunday at the town’s Labour Club, where all members of the 2023 court were announced.

The event returned in 2022 to great success following a two-year hiatus enforced by Covid-19 and now eyes turn to next year’s event in June.

Alongside Bella, Holly Cunningham was announced as lady in waiting, Saul Edmond as the queen’s escort, Lewis Steele as the lady in waiting’s escort, Ruby-Mae Manson as the sceptre bearer, and Kieran Henderson as the crown bearer.

A gala committee spokesperson said: “We, the gala committee, would like to thank everyone who came along to the royal court draw.

“We can only apologise to those whose names did not come out of the draw; this is always difficult and we cannot include everyone who wants to be part of the royal court, as this would make it huge and unmanageable.

“As we look forward to gala 2023, can everyone please consider the volunteers who go above and beyond what is expected, giving up many hours of their time to ensure that the gala goes ahead and are not there to be abused or belittled – without these volunteers, the gala and week of events would not go ahead.

“Can we ask you, the people of Prestonpans, to get behind us, whether that’s helping with fundraising, offering time to help if needed, by sponsoring the gala day or one of the week’s events – a great opportunity to promote your business.

“Please help and support us and, in return, we will do our best to put on possibly one of the biggest and best gala days so far.”

The rest of the gala court is as follows:

l Flower girls: Caitlin Paris, Esme Jeromson, Amelia Chapman, Sofia Fitzpatrick, Macy Godsell, Summer McNeill, Mya Deighan, Emily Begbie, Bella Ross, Paige Whyte.

l Page boys: Frankie Glynn, Keir McGlone, Leon Brash, Leo Campbell, Harrison Nimmo, Theo Hay, Maximus Bannerman, Rory McLeod, Eric Thomson, Jack Fyanes.

l Maids: Lara Thomson, Meadow McIntyre, Sophie Berger, Ellie Brown, Kelsi-Leigh Marshall, Annie Cairney, Abbie Morrison, Lexi Hamilton.

l Flag bearers: Eilidh Patterson, Kitty Lees.