SIX hopefuls are vying to be the SNP candidate for East Lothian in next year’s Scottish Parliament elections.

Stuart Currie, Lyn Jardine, Sid Khan, Paul McLennan, Lee-Anne Menzies and Iain Whyte all hope to represent the party.

Stuart Currie is a ward councillor for Musselburgh and SNP Group leader on East Lothian Council.

Lyn Jardine, of Whittingehame, is a former chair of Women’s Aid East and Midlothian.

Sid Khan was on the SNP’s Glasgow regional list in the 2011 election but didn’t win a seat.

Paul McLennan is a ward councillor for Dunbar and East Linton and a former leader of East Lothian Council.

Lee-Anne Menzies is the SNP’s former Edinburgh branch convenor.

Iain Whyte, who lives in Prestonpans, is office manager for Paul Wheelhouse MSP.

The final candidate will be selected by SNP members at an electronic ballot which opens today (Friday). Paper ballots can be sent to eligible members.

The chosen candidate will be announced on November 6.

Only the Conservatives have so far named their candidate for the election: Haddington councillor Craig Hoy.