FORMER Justice Secretary Kenny MacAskill is hoping to become East Lothian's next MP after putting himself forward to become the SNP's candidate for the seat in the next General Election.

The SNP are preparing to select their East Lothian candidate for the next Westminster vote, with speculation that a General Election could be imminent.

And Mr MacAskill, who was an MSP between 1999 and 2016 – including representing Musselburgh as part of the Edinburgh East and Musselburgh seat between 2007 and 2011 – is one of four candidates seeking the party's nomination to contest the seat.

He is not the only former Parliamentarian looking to represent the SNP in East Lothian, with former Edinburgh West MP Michelle Thomson also in the running.

She was elected an MP in 2015 but resigned the SNP whip later that year and did not contest the seat in the 2017 snap General Election. She rejoined the SNP last year.

Also in the running for the SNP nomination is Prestonpans community councillor DJ Johnston-Smith, who was previously the party's candidate for the 2016 Holyrood election but finished second to Labour's Iain Gray.

And the SNP's former Edinburgh branch convener Lee-Anne Menzies is also hoping to gain the party's nomination for East Lothian.

The selection process will be completed within the next 10 days to decide the next parliamentary candidate for the county, with the decision in the hands of the regional SNP members.

The East Lothian seat is currently held by Labour's Martin Whitfield, who won the constituency from the SNP's George Kerevan in 2017.

Mr Whitfield is expected to stand again as Labour's candidate in the next General Election but this is yet to be confirmed.

Meanwhile, Robert O'Riordan has previously been confirmed as the Liberal Democrats' candidate for East Lothian, while the Conservatives are yet to make an announcement on their candidate.