A NEW councillor will be elected in the Haddington and Lammermuir ward on Thursday, May 9.

A by-election is taking place following the resignation of Conservative councillor Brian Small earlier this year.

Voters in the ward will have a choice of five candidates when they go to the polls, with the successful candidate announced the following day.

Already, the ward is represented by three councillors: Shamin Akhtar, John McMillan (both Labour) and Tom Trotter (SNP).

They will be joined by a fourth councillor.

Neal Black (Scottish Labour Party), Stuart Crawford (Scottish Liberal Democrats), Lorraine Glass (Scottish National Party (SNP)), Craig Hoy (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) and David Sisson (UK Independence Party (UKIP)) are all standing for election.

Voting takes place between 7am and 10pm on Thursday, with polling stations at Aubigny Sports Centre, Haddington; Athelstaneford Village Hall; Bolton Village Hall; Fletcher Hall, East Saltoun; Garvald Village Hall; Gifford Village Hall; Humbie Village Hall; Morham Village Hall; Ormiston Community Centre; and Trevelyan Hall, Pencaitland.

The by-election will use the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system, where voters can rank candidates in order of preference rather than a single cross. Voters can choose to vote for as many or as few candidates as they like.

The result of the by-election will be announced the following day.

For profiles of the five candidates standing, see below: