THE cut-off point to stand for election to East Lothian Council in the elections on Thursday, May 4, has now passed and the following candidates have put themselves forward.

The deadline for nominations was at 4pm on Wednesday, March 29.

Polling will take place between 7am and 10pm on Thursday, May 4.

Full results will likely not be known until the afternoon of Friday, May 5.

The candidates are listed below by the ward in which they are standing. The number in brackets after each ward is the number of councillors who will be elected for each ward.

Candidates are listed in alphabetical order.

Musselburgh Ward (4 councillors)

  • John Caldwell (Independent)
  • Stuart Currie (SNP)
  • Andy Forrest (Labour)
  • Claire Graham (Liberal Democrats)
  • Katie Mackie (Conservative)
  • Jason Rose (Greens)
  • Katherine Sangster (Labour)
  • Theresa Sives (Independent)
  • John Williamson (SNP)

Preston, Seton, Gosford Ward (4 councillors)

  • Lachlan Bruce (Conservative)
  • Ghill Donald (Liberal Democrats)
  • Neil Gilbert (SNP)
  • Willie Innes (Labour)
  • Fiona O'Donnell (Labour)
  • Lesley Orr (Greens)
  • Brian Weddell (Labour)
  • Janis Wilson (SNP)

Tranent, Wallyford and Macmerry Ward (4 councillors)

  • Fiona Dugdale (Labour)
  • Jim Gillies (Labour)
  • Alexander Graham (Liberal Democrats)
  • Jimmy Haddow (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition)
  • Gordon Mackett (Conservative)
  • Colin McGinn (Labour)
  • Kenny McLeod (SNP)
  • Linda Watson (SNP)

North Berwick Coastal Ward (3 councillors)

  • Jeremy Findlay (Conservative)
  • Laura Lowe Forrest (SNP)
  • Jim Goodfellow (Labour)
  • Jane Henderson (Conservative)
  • Robert O'Riordan (Liberal Democrats)
  • Eurig Scandrett (Greens)

Haddington and Lammermuir Ward (4 councillors)

  • Shamin Akhtar (Labour)
  • Ruth Currie (SNP)
  • John McMillan (Labour)
  • Kelvin Pate (Liberal Democrats)
  • Brian Small (Conservative)
  • Cris Thacker (Greens)
  • Tom Trotter (SNP)

Dunbar and East Linton Ward (3 councillors)

  • Sarah Beattie-Smith (Greens)
  • Norman Hampshire (Labour)
  • Sue Kempson (Conservative)
  • Isobel Knox (SNP)
  • Paul McLennan (SNP) 
  • Elisabeth Wilson (Liberal Democrats)