EAST Lothian voters are going to the polls today (Thursday) to vote in the General Election.

Polling stations are open in the county from 7am to 10pm today as residents cast their vote for their next MP to represent East Lothian in Westminster.

There are five candidates standing in East Lothian: Mike Allan (independent), George Kerevan (SNP), Sheila Low (Conservative), Martin Whitfield (Labour) and Elisabeth Wilson (Liberal Democrats).

Voters must only vote for one candidate.

READ MORE: Everything East Lothian voters need to know for the election

The race in East Lothian is expected to be very tight, while the UK-wide contest is also expected to be close.

East Lothian Council has already reported "brisk turnout" at polling stations in the county this morning, despite the weather.

The Courier will be keeping you updated with all the developments in a live blog tonight as the count gets under way in Haddington. The East Lothian result is not expected to be announced until the early hours of the morning.

And for everything you need to know for the vote, see our guide here.